Onitolo, Ansar-ud-Deen girls are winners of Lagos T-20 Cricket

Onitolo, Ansar-ud-Deen girls are winners of Lagos T-20 Cricket


Onitolo Community High School, Surulere and Ansar-ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire, emerged overall best teams at the final of Lagos State T20 Secondary Schools Cricket Championship of the boys and girls’ categories played at the Cricket Oval, Tafawa Balewa Square, during the weekend.

The Onitolo boys secured a narrow win over Ansar-ud-Deen College, Isolo, in 62 runs for four wicket and eight overs as against 59 runs for six wickets and eight overs recorded by Ansar-ud-Deen College team.

In the female cadre, Ansar-ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire defeated Surulere Girls Secondary School by 20 runs in three overs as against 19 runs in six overs by their opponents.

At the end of contests in the boys’ categories awards, Mohammed Taiwo of Onitolo Community High School won the best cricketer, while Fatti Mazzi of Ansar-ud-Deen Grammar School was given the batman laurel of the series awards.

Salako Ibrahim of Ansar-ud-Deen Grammar School took wicket keeper of the series award, while Arigbabu Kehinde of Ansar-ud-Deen College, Isolo, won the bowler of the series.

In the girls’ category, Seaman Timi of Adebola Baptist High School won the cricketer and bowler, while the fielder of the series went to Nelson Aminat of Ansar-ud-Deen Girls High School, Itire. However, Umeh Ifeoma of Onitolo Community High School won the wicketkeeper and batman prizes of the series of awards.

Speaking on the occasion, Chairman of Lagos State Sports Commission, who is also the Special Adviser on Sports to the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Deji Tinubu, described the T20 tournament as one of many the state sports commission wants to use to keep the youth busy.

“We want to create many opportunities to drive our youth into sports. Our target is also to have proper school sports in Lagos State because we believe this is where the future of sports lies, “ he said.

Chairman of Lagos State Cricket Association, Mr. Ayodele Kwesi-Sagoe, disclosed that a total of 17 schools took part in the three days tournament (11 boys and six girls). He said the competition was made possible through the facilitating support from the Deji Tinubu-led sports commission.

Source : Guardian.ng