2016 Nigeria prize for literature winner announced

2016 Nigeria prize for literature winner announced


– Abubakar Adam Ibrahim is the winner of this year’s Nigeria Prize for literature

– The prize was keenly contested between Elnathan John, Chika Unigwe and Abubakar

– The Nigeria prize for literature is $100,000

2016 Nigeria prize for literature winner announced

NLNG Prize announcement today

The prize which describes itself as “bringing Nigerian scientists and authors to public attention and celebrating excellence in scientific breakthroughs and literary craftsmanship in the nation,” is one of the most sort after literary prizes in Nigeria.

READ ALSOThese 7 libraries in Nigerian universities will definitely help you learn quickly

Initially it was worth $20,000, then in 2006, it was increased to $30,000 and in 2008 to $50,000. In 2011, the prize was increased to a whooping $100,000 making it the largest African literary prize and one of the richest literary prizes in the world.

The Prize for Literature rotates among four genres – Fiction, Poetry, Drama and Children’s literature every year and for 2016, the prize was given to fiction.

2016 Nigeria prize for literature winner announced

The judges for this year’s prize were: Prof. Dan Izevbaye, well-respected literary critic and a professor of English Language at Bowen University, Iwo, Professor Asabe Usman Kabir, Professor of Oral and African Literatures at Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto and Professor Isidore Diala, a professor of African Literature at Imo State University, Owerri and first winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism.

READ ALSOBREAKING: Another Nigerian literary icon dies (Photo)

They were led by Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo who announced the shortlist of 11 writers for the prize in July 2016, and then a shortlist of three writers: Chika Unigwe, for her book ‘Night Dancer’, Abubakar Adam Ibrahim for ‘Season of Crimson Blossoms’ and Elnathan John for his book: ‘Born on a Tuesday’.

Via their twitter handle, it was announced today, October 12, that Abubakar Adam Ibrahim is the winner of the prize which is about N47 million. Abubakar Adam Ibrahim is also a journalist, who is one of the judges for the Etisalat prize of literature this year.

Abubakar Adam Ibrahim

The announcement was made at the world press conference on the Nigeria prize for literature and the Nigeria prize for science which held at the Sheraton hotel, Ikeja Lagos.

Congratulations to him!

Source : Naij.com